Student Services

To adequately prepare students to be great practitioners, it’s important that they not only receive great classroom instruction, but great clinical experience and instruction.  AHEC Rotations provide health profession students a broad range of practice experiences in a supportive, professional community. These rotations take place in small cities or rural locations and in underserved communities all across the state of Kentucky. Students are assigned to preceptors/clinical instructors either by their program liaison or by the clinical education coordinator. The program addresses the advantages and challenges of providing health services to a rural community through a variety of experiences including interdisciplinary opportunities and community service.                                                                                                            

To that end, all students enrolled in one of the UK health professions programs will be required to complete one or more immersive community-based clinical experiences away from the University.  These experiences range in duration, but must be at least four weeks in length.  The AHEC program is committed to supporting these activities for UK students.  Annually, the AHEC program helps support over 1200 clinical rotations by providing support services and reimbursement to students.  Support services include reimbursement for rent and mileage/travel costs incurred during the rotation.  The AHEC program also supports these community-based clinical experience by providing information on housing options and the local area where the rotation is taking place.

Center

Coordinator

e-mail

Phone

North Central AHEC

Rose Mueller

Sarah Hughes  

rose.mueller@kctcs.edu

sarah.hughes@kctcs.edu    

859-442-1194

859-442-1192

Northeast AHEC

Jessica Caudill

Jessica.Caudill@st-claire.org

606-783-6469

Southeast AHEC

Kathy Sampsell

ksampsell0001@kctcs.edu

606-487-0137

Southern AHEC

Sherry Spragens

sspragens@soahec.org

606-256-0950

Purchase AHEC

Stacie Collins  

scollins@murraystate.edu

270-809-4119

West AHEC

Carol Phebus

carol.phebus@bhsi.com

270-824-3557

South Central AHEC

Veronica Drake

veronica.drake@wku.edu

270-745-5871

Northwest AHEC

Kim Mapp

kmapp@fhclouisville.org

502-772-8184