Kyprianou to be Inducted to Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars

Professor Natasha Kyprianou, the James F. Hardymon Chair in Urologic Research at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, has been elected to the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars.

The society was established in May 1967 by the trustees of the University to honor former Johns Hopkins postdoctoral fellows and junior or visiting faculty, who have subsequently achieved marked distinction in their field. Kyprianou was a postdoctoral fellow in Urologic Oncology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, from 1987-1990.

Kyprianou is a professor of urology, molecular and cellular biochemistry, pathology and toxicology. A leading investigator in prostate cancer research, she is internationally recognized for her critical contributions to the identification of apoptosis as a mechanism underlying therapeutic response of breast and prostate tumors to hormone treatment.

Her research focuses on apoptosis signaling during prostate cancer progression to metastasis, and development of novel molecular therapeutics targeting advanced prostate cancer. Her book titled, “Molecular Exploitation of Apoptosis Pathways in Prostate Cancer,” was recently published by Imperial College Press, London.

Kyprianou will be presented with a medallion and certificate at the induction ceremony for new members of the society, which will take place on Thursday, April 11, at the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University. There are currently 551 members of this prestigious society.